What’s happiness… Maybe letting go… 

I’ve learned in my 30 years on earth “things” rarely bring me happiness. In fact I almost feel they’ve held me back. I had the same bedroom  furniture since I was little. During the trading spaces era I repainted the bedroom furniture and had it until 5 years ago. I was moving back to Indiana for a couple of what I  thought were opportunities and my high school bestie, Katie suggested I  sell it. The best feeling ever. It was like I let go of my little girl personality and years of low self esteem. It was freeing for my creative soul.

Now as I have felt like I “paused” my life for a year searching for the right career move I’m doing it again. Since moving for a job that turned out to be a very bad decision,  I stare at this piece I picked up in Fort Wayne where I loved living. Everytime I sit in my sparsely furnished living room I cry when I see it. I lost a job I loved because I was layed off. I attach my beloved ft. Wayne with the piece and it holds me back.  It’s the opportunity that got away. I won’t get it back and need to move forward! Also,  money is tight as I struggle to find my footing and I think money could fuel my dream so why do I keep this material item that is a constant reminder of dreams deterred?

After I ransacked my storage boxes and sold old expensive planner binders from college, candle holders and other “things” I kept but never used for a decade,  EBay was my God sent. It felt like a cleanse I could have used before the last two moves!  All these items are replaceable. I sold all jewelry that I bought when rich from my grandpa’s inheritance. I kept a few rings handed down to me from my G and Mom. The money I made  bought me tires. Tires that take me to spend time with my 92 year old grandma. Time I’d never get back.

Do I have my (grandmas) G’s  furniture , nope. My brother was like a vulture and took EVERYTHING. a couple years ago when I spent 5 days in ICU with G and almost lost her to a heart attack I asked my brother for one piece. He refused. Then I realized I have memories with her which is a lot more valuable than a hutch. I am the only one she can consistently depend on. In fact I was so proud when she called my brother and said  “Mandi can’t keep buying me tissue and things I need,  you need to help” he did which made me grateful. I was proud of G because she usually relies on me. She hates confrontation and well I don’t care to confront people. It’s my charming personality.

So today I sold that piece in my living room,  the feeling was liberating. So if furniture is important to you, keep it. For me,  my happiest moments are studying in Mexico for 7 weeks,  traveling to Hawaii on my own,  going to NYC to see Broadway and living in a new place on my own like Raleigh, NC. So I like my closet full of clothes to take me on adventures and a make-up collection to make me feel beautiful on those adventures. Don’t let material things anchor you to a life you don’t want. If the material things help you grow, keep them. Sometimes you have to let go of who you were to become who you’re meant to be.

Leave a Reply

