The cryptic FB post

I never intended it to be cryptic. I had a lot of hard career decisions to make last week. I was a bit stressed because I want to make a better decision than my last one. On Thursday after an 8 hour drive round trip for an important interview I became exhausted as I had 4 interviews last week. So when I got home I posted “thanks for the kindness(referring to everyone saying my pre interview picture was beautiful and I didn’t have a ‘face’ for radio” then I said “Good bye ”

Here’s what I meant about Good Bye… I needed a break from the fake world of Facebook. I only show the good parts. Radio is tough to get a break in because there’s lots of pretty faces with talent like me. I can’t let my friends who may have never met me lift me up and then when the job I want goes to someone else I fall crashing to the ground. It’s easy to let Facebook, twitter, ย or even Instagram make you feel so so good but they don’t have all the facts to make that decision. There’s a false sense of self that comes from your fans and friends on all social media platforms.

 

I just needed to step away. I know I have the talent. I know I have the work ethic. However no matter how many people say I’m great on Facebook or insta, ย an employer knows these are my friends and ย aren’t going to base their decision on this. I needed to take a hard look at what I have to offer and not be influenced by people who may not know the whole truth.

I appreciate the friends who called and were concerned. This has been a difficult time. “Victory is in my veins. When the fire is at my feet again. And the vultures all start circling, they’re whispering you’re out of time… I will rise” Katy Perry

 

Thanks so much.

Mandi

Leave a Reply

